Jump to content

Pass Interference?


Coach Shawn
 Share

Recommended Posts

Looks like OPI to me.  Defender is headed toward the ball, and the receiver isnt when he runs into the defender, pushing him off the ball.

We also have some issues with calling Pass Interference.  Basically, to get the call, the player who gets interfered has to be (reasonably) headed toward the ball at the time of the foul, and the player committing the interference needs to make contact from the side or behind.

But it's not always so clear cut in game play.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

54 minutes ago, zak99b5 said:

Looks like OPI to me.  Defender is headed toward the ball, and the receiver isnt when he runs into the defender, pushing him off the ball.

We also have some issues with calling Pass Interference.  Basically, to get the call, the player who gets interfered has to be (reasonably) headed toward the ball at the time of the foul, and the player committing the interference needs to make contact from the side or behind.

But it's not always so clear cut in game play.  

Your description of OPI is spot on with ours.  
The first aspect of this play is that it is the defender who runs into the receiver so in most cases it would be DPI.

As you said it does boil down to whether the receiver is still heading for the ball.
Taking the  receivers expected turn into account is where the difficulty lies when determining whether or not he is still “making a play” for the ball.

I had expected this receiver to curve to the left.  He is slow in doing this and I agree that it appears he will miss the ball marker.   But by how much must he miss it to be no longer considered the primary for the pass?

That is the hard question for me.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In your video, I think it's clear OPI because the contact happens farther than a base length away, and the intended receiver runs,not toward the ball, head on into the defender who was headed for the ball.  

If they were both headed towards the ball and bump more than a base length away (coming from spots close to each other), the player who is trailing is considered to be guilty of PI.  But we usually let the board run in this case if the leading player is still headed toward the ball, and if he catches it the penalty can be declined.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

Posting Guidelines

Please follow the Rules to ensure that the forums promote fun and productive conversations. We value the free flow of information. We can't offer that in what we believe to be an unsafe or illegal environment. See the section on "Selling Unlicensed Products and/or Services". Failure to comply with these rules may result in a ban from the forums. 

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please review our Terms of Use.