My peculiar rules for my league

Jim Fitzpatrick

Since I've been playing solitaire for many decades, I've evolved a number of game rules that have served me well over the years.  Naturally, they are peculiar to my own play, and may, or may not, be adaptable for any other solitaire league.  I'll go over many of them individually, starting with this post.

The 2 play rule (applying to 2 consecutive running plays):
Playing by myself, it's obvious that I know what the "next" offensive play is going to be.  That would seem to be an enormous advantage to the defense.  So I developed the "2 play rule" for running plays.  This rule only applies only when an offensive team runs 2 consecutive running plays, and is intended to prevent the defense from having that "unfair" advantage.  The rule is simple. "After a team calls a running play, on the following play - if a another running play - the defense must set up in exactly the same formation as they were on the prior play"  The idea here is to prevent the defense from concentrating players in an area to stop a particular type of running play.  In other words, the defense must maintain a defense intended to stop every running play that might possibly be called.  Note that this only applies to consecutive running plays, and not just consecutive plays.  If a pass play is called after a running play, then the consecutive string of running plays is broken, until the next running play is called (which starts a new string of running plays).